Dept. of Transportation
Metro Transit Division

King Street Center
201 S Jackson St
Seattle, WA 98104
Metro Online Home

June 2009 Tammy Klein wins Metroadeo

photo: Metro's Roadeo winners
2009 Metroadeo top finishers are (from right) First Place Tammy Klein, Second Place Chai Kunjara, and Third Place Michael Grady.

Atlantic Base bus driver Tammy Klein took top honors in Metros annual bus roadeo last weekend, becoming the first woman to win the competition.

The annual Metroadeo pits bus drivers against their peers on a closed course. Metro winners often go on to compete very successfully at the state and national levels. Each year, the Roadeo gives operators an opportunity to demonstrate their daily driving skills in a competitive environment and set the standard for safe operations. It is sponsored by Metros Safety and Training staff.

In this years 33rd Annual Metroadeo, Klein beat out Chai Kunjara of Ryerson Base, and multi-year champion Michael Grady of East Base. Other winners were: William McQuaid, East Base, Maverick Operator Division; Harold Lemmon, Service Quality, Maverick Non-Operator Division; Dustin Toms, South Base, Best Score First-Time Operator; and Paul Tefft, Atlantic Base, Most Improved Score.

Updated: July 1, 2009