Service Guidelines Task Force


The success of the original Regional Transit Task Force was due in part to collaboration by King County, partner cities, regional decision makers, and diverse stakeholders. The Service Guidelines Task Force will use this same approach to develop recommendations for further improving the regional transit system planning.

The Task Force includes 31 executive-level representatives of a variety of organizations and constituencies across King County. Members are not necessarily transit experts, but are familiar with how the transportation system affects quality of life and with transit’s relationship to land use and mobility.

Membership includes a mix of elected officials representing jurisdictions across King County and representatives of business, labor, major institutions, human and social services, large employers, environmental groups, King County’s Transit Advisory Commission, mobility advocates, and the Puget Sound Regional Council.

List of members

Name Affiliation
Paul Bachtel Amalgamated Transit Union Local 587
Nancy Backus City of Auburn
Amy Biggs Snoqualmie Valley Transit
Vic Bishop Eastside Transportation Association
Josh Brown Puget Sound Regional Council
Tim Burgess City of Seattle
Fred Butler City of Issaquah
John Chelminiak City of Bellevue
Suzette Cooke City of Kent
Dorene Cornwell Mobility Advocate
Lauren Craig Puget Sound Sage
Chris Eggen City of Shoreline
Mahnaz K. Eshetu Refugee Women’s Alliance
Jim Ferrell City of Federal Way
Hilary Franz Futurewise
George Frasier Green River College
David Freiboth King County Labor Council
Patrick Green Bellevue College
Josh Kavanagh University of Washington
Matt Koltnow Transit Advisory Commission
Scott Kubly Seattle Department of Transportation
Matt Larson City of Snoqualmie
John Marchione City of Redmond
Gordon McHenry Solid Ground
Lynn Moody Hopelink
Shefali Ranganathan Transportation Choices Coalition
Tom Rasmussen City of Seattle
Carla Saulter Transit rider
Jon Scholes Downtown Seattle Association
Edna Shim Children’s Hospital
Jim Stanton Microsoft

Ex officio members

  • Kevin Desmond, General Manager, King County Metro Transit
  • Mike Harbour, Acting CEO, Sound Transit
Service Guidelines Task Force Report and Recommendations

Report and Recommendations

The Service Guidelines Task Force transmitted its report and recommendations to the King County Council and County Executive on Nov 2, 2015.

Next Steps

Task Force recommendations have been incorporated into updates to Metro's Strategic Plan for Public Transportation and Service Guidelines. The King County Council passed the updates in June 2016. Metro will continue its work to achieve the goals outlined in the plan.